Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice

Pavol Jazef Šafárik Univerzity logo

Pavol Jozef Šafárik University was established in 1959 as the second classical University in Slovakia. The current structure of  P. J. Šafárik University includes four faculties – Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Law and Faculty of Public Administration. At our University more than 5 700 students are studying. At the University 1250 staff members (500 teachers and 95 research staff) are working.
The University provides education in three main cycles - bachelor’s, master’s, doctor´s and PhD. studies in different fields. The process of education is provided in both, Slovak and English language. Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice provides higher education based on the newest scientific findings in a wide international context. The University co-operates very intensively with academic institutions all around the world.

Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice
Faculty of Science

The tradition of higher education in Košice begins with the foundation of Academia Cassoviensis by Bishop Benedict Kisdy as early as in 1657. A Golden Bull issued by the Holy Roman Emperor Leopold I has granted this university similar privileges to those enjoyed by universities in Vienna, Prague and other European cities. The university in various forms, first as a Royal Academy and later as a Law Academy, lasted until 1921.
The University in Košice in its modern form was established in 1959 as the second university in Slovakia. Its foundation was an important contribution to the development of the educational and research activities in the second largest Slovak city. The University is named after an outstanding personality of Slovak history, Pavol Jozef Šafárik (1795 – 1861), who was a scientist, poet, linguist, ethnographer, archaeologist and educator. At the time of its foundation the University consisted of the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Philosophy. Gradually, other faculties were created in Košice and nearby Prešov, namely the Faculty of Science (founded in 1963), the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Education, the Greek-Catholic Faculty and the Faculty of Orthodox Theology.
On January 1, 1997, the P.J.Šafárik University was split into two independent universities – the University of Prešov and the P.J.Šafárik University in Košice. At present the P.J.Šafárik University in Košice consists of the four faculties : the Faculty of Medicine, the Faculty of Science, the Faculty of Law, Faculty of Public Administration and the Faculty of Arts.
50th anniversary Faculty of Science, Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice
The Faculty of Science is a remarkable institution of higher education and research, offering education in different branches of science (biology, chemistry, physics, mathematics, computer science, geography and ecology), which may be studied either as single (one-subject) or joint (two-subject) degree programmes. Due to its fruitful results in research, mirrored in publications in renowned scientific journals and presented at important international conferences, and also due to the intensive international collaboration and participation in international projects, the faculty has become a recognized academic institution not only in Slovakia but also in Europe and other parts of the world. Up to 60 percent of its scientific outputs are made within this co-operation. Among priority tasks of the faculty in science and research are the support of grant projects, the strengthening of the multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary research and further deepening of international collaboration, particularly by joining diverse existing networks of projects and programmes both in fundamental and applied research and by cooperating with industry.
The Faculty of Science of the P. J. Šafárik University in Košice has educated more than 6 000 graduates of both, joint and single degree study in all branches of science. In the frame of generally accepted model 3-2-4 the Faculty provides the Bachelor´s, Magister´s (Master´s) and Doctoral degree study.
The research in the field of biology and ecology is oriented on study of biodiversity of plants and animals, biotechnology of medicinal plants, cancerogenesis, prevention and cancer therapy; in geography on relief evolution and landscape development of the Slovak Karst and Košice region; in chemistry on synthesis and properties of new compounds as biologically active species and new materials with biological activity; in informatics on fuzzy techniques, neural networks and logical programming; in mathematics on graph theory, algebraic structures, differential equations and topology; in physics on development of new magnetic materials, theoretical and experimental research of low-dimensional magnetism and quantum liquids at ultra-low temperatures, nuclear collision studies and photo-dynamic effect.
The graduates of the Faculty find employment not only as researchers and secondary schools teachers but also adapt in the business sphere and public administration.
The Faculty offers the following degree studies:
A) Bachelor’s study is provided in the following study programs: 
  • Biology, Chemistry, General Ecology, Landscape Structure and Its Transformation, Informatics, Mathematics, Physics, Joint (two-subjects) Programs
  • After the successfully completed bachelor exam the student obtains the degree of "Bachelor". 
B) Magister’s study (equivalent to Master’s study) is provided in the following study programs:
  • Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Bioorganic Chemistry, Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Botany and Plant Physiology, Cell and Molecular Biology and Genetics, Zoology and Animal Physiology, General Ecology, Geography, Informatics, Informatical Mathematics, Mathematics of Economics and Finance, Managerial Mathematics, Mathematics, Biophysics, Physics, Physics of Condensed Matter, Nuclear and Subnuclear Physics, Teaching of Academic Subjects.
  • The study takes 2 years. It is finished with a state final exam and the submission of a thesis. Graduates obtain the degree of "Magister".
C) Doctoral study’s (PhD.) ambition is to provide a stream of specialized and highly trained researchers able to undertake basic as well as applied research and development. The study is carried out in the following study programs: 
  • Applied Mathematics, Discrete Mathematics, Theory of Teaching of Mathematics, Biophysics, Condensed Matter Physics, General Physics and Mathematical Physics, Nuclear and Sub-nuclear Physics, Theory of Teaching of Physics, Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Animal Physiology, Genetics, Plant Physiology, Informatics
Internal form of the study takes generally 4 years (except for Theory of Teaching of Mathematics where study takes only 3 years) and external form 5 years. For obtaining the degree of "Philosophiae doctor - PhD." passing some special exams and submission of a doctoral thesis is necessary. 
Doctoral students are supervised by individuals with high national and international reputations in their research field and receive an excellent research training as a result. Doctoral students participate in research activities as well as in teaching.
Annual Report 2011